The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck – Book Review

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life

I have to confess: I have a weak spot for the word “Counterintuitive”. I am not sure why. Maybe it is because when I was young my intuitions told me to run away from any effort or stress. Fears and skepticism clouded by my intuition. Now my intuition and I are good friends and I trust her, still, I like “Counterintuitive”. Over the years I found time after time how wrong is the “common sense” and the common knowledge. Can our intuition grasp the knowledge the world is round?

Why am I telling you all that? Well, when I first laid my eye on the words “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life” I was enchanted (haven’t you?). This is a Book by Mark Manson. The title “The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach to Living a Good Life” is one of the best titles for a book I have ever come across. It combines three things I want to do: 1) live a good life (duh…) 2) have a Counterintuitive (we covered it, didn’t we?) 3) not giving a fuck (who doesn’t?)

Intuitively, I want to tell you about Mark Manson; but because this is a counterintuitive book I won’t. I believe a book should carry himself with no need for the author to back it up, and the book carries his own weight.

What is it about?

How many self-help guides tell you the truth to your face? Remember how they told you the sky is the limit? Well, this book tells you otherwise… there are limitations and if you are asthmatic, you shouldn’t live in the desert. Know your limitations, accept them, and learn to live with them. What?! Limitation? On a personal development site? Yep, sorry 😥 Sure the limitations are usually less overwhelming than what we consider them to be but they are there. See, we all have our faults (you can ask my wife she has a written list of mines), fears and difficulties. The sooner we acknowledge it the sooner we learn to override them.

The book tries to make us choose what battles to fight. We can’t give a f*ck about everything (life to short) so we have to decide what are the things the matters the most to us (and I mean THE MOST) and let anything else go.

Here is a small excerpt from the Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck: “You get anxious about confronting somebody in your life. That anxiety cripples you and you start wondering why you’re so anxious. Now you’re becoming anxious about being anxious. Oh no! Doubly anxious! Now you’re anxious about your anxiety, which is causing more anxiety. Quick, where’s the whiskey?” this is called in the book “The Feedback Loop from Hell.

The feedback loop from hell means you are aware of the way you behave and this makes the behavior worse. But if you aware of the way you behave, but you don’t give a f*ck you are breaking the loop and feel better about yourself.

We should face hard truths if we want to make a change.

The book states that happiness doesn’t come from comfortableness or easiness, happiness comes from solving our problems.

Why should you read it?

There are many self-help guides that are written as a dry lecture. They are existing and boring. This book is the exact opposite. The book is hilarious. The descriptions are vivid and the book is fluent. I read it in “one stroke” as if it was a mystery book.

I think this book is unique because he shoots the truth at you right between your eyes. It takes the lid off the “common truth” box and shows out in the open how misused they are.

This book will change your perspective in so many areas of your life and your personal development. You will be amazed how you didn’t read this book before.

I think this book is a must-read book. The combinations of  funny languish and innovative content leaves the reader speechless.

If you are serious about wanting to change your life,this book is for you.

 Chapters of The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck – table of content and chapters

Table Of Contents/ List Of Topics Covered:

Chapter 1: Don’t Try
– The Feedback Loop from Hell
– The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck
– So Mark, What the Fuck Is the Point of This Book Anyway?

Chapter 2: Happiness Is a Problem
– The Misadventures of Disappointment Panda
– Happiness Comes from Solving Problems
– Emotions Are Overrated
– Choose Your Struggle

Chapter 3: You Are Not Special
– Things Fall Apart
– The Tyranny of Exceptionalism
– B-b-b-but, If I’m Not Going to Be Special or Extraordinary, What’s the Point?

Chapter 4: The Value of Suffering
– The Self-Awareness Onion
– Rock Star Problems
– Shitty Values
– Defining Good and Bad Values

Chapter 5: You Are Always Choosing
– The Choice
– The Responsibility/Fault Fallacy
– Responding to Tragedy
– Genetics and the Hand We’re Dealt
– Victimhood Chic
– There Is No “How”

Chapter 6: You’re Wrong About Everything
– (But So Am I)
– Architects of Our Own Beliefs
– Be Careful What You Believe
– The Dangers of Pure Certainty
– Manson’s Law of Avoidance
– Kill Yourself
– How to Be a Little Less Certain of Yourself

Chapter 7: Failure Is the Way Forward
– The Failure/Success Paradox
– Pain Is Part of the Process
– The “Do Something” Principle

Chapter 8: The Importance of Saying No
– Rejection Makes Your Life Better
– Boundaries
– How to Build Trust
– Freedom Through Commitment

Chapter 9: . . . And Then You Die
– Something Beyond Our Selves
– The Sunny Side of Death

where can you buy it?

Good question…. you can find it right here on audio:  The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck - Book Review
Article Name
The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck - Book Review
The Subtle Art of not Giving a Fuck - Book Review - A book to teach you how to live a goof fulfilling life. Most of us struggle throughout our lives by giving too many fucks in situations where fucks do not deserve to be given. There is a subtle art to not giving a fuck.
Publisher Name
Publisher Logo